I am becoming a big farmer.

Big farmer

A true story. In the second month of my work in the community garden my cultivation area has doubled. Since my first piece of land has been already full but I really wished to have some peas at my garden, I have decided to take advantage of unused space of the community garden and started to work on a new plot in October. 

Peas everywhere

Before seeding peas

Before seeding peas

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the middle of October it was already a bit late to seed peas, but I did it anyway. One of the reasons for this is that my goal is not to eat fresh peas in December, but to have some plants from a legume family which enrich the soil with nitrogen. This happens through the nitrogen fixation process, which is described well on Wikipedia:

They contain symbiotic bacteria called Rhizobia within nodules in their root systems, producing nitrogen compounds that help the plant to grow and compete with other plants. When the plant dies, the fixed nitrogen is released, making it available to other plants and this helps to fertilize the soil.

DSCF6235

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second reason to seed peas in October is simply curiosity. I just wanted to experiment how the peas will grow in this season and how much they will grow. In order to have more diverse experiment I covered two parts of the plot with fern and left one without.

Peas and white clover

Peas and white clover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Together with peas I have also seeded white clover which also belongs to the legume family among peas. Peas were seeded in lines and white clover all over the plot to cover the soil. In eight days first plants sprouted up.

DSCF6915

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When the peas grew 10 cm high I put some sticks as a support to climb. I only put sticks in one part of the plot to see how the ones without any support will grow. According to the old ladies that sold me the seeds at the market this variety of peas doesn’t need any support to grow. We will see!

Little peas learning to climb

Little peas learning to climb

Interesting links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nitrogen_fixation

One thought on “I am becoming a big farmer.

Leave a Reply

